Life, Wearable

Lilly Pulitzer for Target. Sigh.

The Lilly Pulitzer for Target collection launched on Sunday.

It sold out minutes later.

Minutes after that the entire line ended up on eBay with prices jacked up 300%.

Part of me wants to call this a Target fail, but the reality it’s not just on Target. Yes, Target could have learned from collections past and done something to control the frenzy of greedy scalpers swiping up things just to sell them online or they could have planned for a restock. They didn’t.  I hope they do better next time, but I doubt that they will. In the end, the only thing I could find of the collection was a questionable orange nail polish with a Lilly tag stuck to it. I passed. I am still so disappointed.

the only damn thing i wanted from the lilly for target collection.

the only damn thing i wanted from the lilly for target collection.

The Lilly Pulitzer for Target line was the first time I’ve ever seen Lilly items in true plus sizes. I had a Lilly dress back in my skinny days (I picked up a vintage one in a thrift shop. I think it still lives in one of the boxes I’ve got in storage) but now that I’m distinctively larger I just can’t get them. Real Lilly items only go up to a 16 making the Target collaboration my only hope until I lose more weight. My preppy self got excited.  I gawked at the look book, selected the dress that I wanted the most and went online ready to pounce.

Sold out in seconds. Website crashed. I managed to find the dress on eBay ten minutes later…for $400. I passed.

There is something inherently wrong and almost evil about wiping out a collection only to jack up the price on eBay. Yes, I’m going with evil. I don’t begrudge anyone a profit, but at the same time the point of these collections is to bring the designer object within reach of the average person who might otherwise not be able to access or afford them. A plus size Lilly dress for $38 is practically a miracle in a world where plus size clothes are rarely cute and always cost twice as much as standard sizes. That the miracle of an affordable designer dress was hijacked by scalpers is disappointing at best, but more honestly is just flat out greedy.

It makes me disappointed in my fellow humans.

i will be saving up for this, scalpers can suck it.

i will be saving up for this, scalpers can suck it.

I’ll just have to wait until I lose a few more pounds to get another Lilly dress and a lot more pounds to slip back into the one living in storage. It’s okay, just annoying. In the meantime, though, I’m going to keep saving up for the Lilly bag I really want, scalpers be damned.

Standard

One thought on “Lilly Pulitzer for Target. Sigh.

  1. Blair says:

    I am not plus sized but had similar frustrations. By the time the public could access the line through Target’s website, it was already almost completely sold out, thanks to someone letting the links go searchable on google and live on mobile before the site was intended to be opened up for online sales. Inventory was almost depleted before it was even supposed to be available. If you could manage to find something, good luck keeping it in your cart and successfully checking out. I was up til 6 am trying to purchase three items online. I got only one, and I consider myself lucky to have gotten that. There’s no excuse for the utter disorganization and unpreparedness of this launch. Now, in addition to eBay scalpers, there are girls buying up whatever they can get their hands on, whether they want it or not, so they can use it as collateral for potential trades. I don’t know if they realize it leaves the people who actually DID want those items empty handed in the same way that scalping the dresses does, by denying intended customers access to the products they wanted to buy. A size 14 dress is intended for a size 14 woman; not a size 2 who is holding it hostage until someone offers her what she wants for it. The whole thing has turned into a mess and I hope that Target puts more thought into their next collaboration launch.

Leave a Reply

