Life

what’s on my face lately

My face is all sorts of crazy. Yes, I’m a makeup artist. Yes, I work for an incredible brand and have access to really great skin care. My skin, however, doesn’t seem to care. Lately it’s been sensitive to all the products that I usually love and I’ve had breakouts like crazy. I’m also in the middle of a “use all the sample sizes I have” phase so that I can feel good about opening up my new jar of Bobbi Brown’s Hydrating Face Cream. Good grief I love that stuff.

But in the last few weeks I’ve hit on a really random collection of things that is working. The acne is less troublesome. My face isn’t itching like crazy. I might actually survive my sample size purge. Behold, my current skin care routine.

FullSizeRender(16)

Shiseido Ibuki Refining Moisturizer

Boots Expert Anti-Blemish Cleansing Foam

Demalogica Precleanse

Clinique Turnaround Revitalizing Lotion

Paula’s Choice Skin Perfecting 8% AHA Gel

Boots Expert Scar Care Serum

La Mer Soft Cream

The Shiseido is my day moisturizer. It’s lightweight and nice and has worked for the summer. It smells good. It lays well under makeup. The Boots Anti-Blemish Cleansing Foam has been amazing for my skin. It is far more gentle than most acne cleansers. No harsh ingredients, just TLC. The Dermalogica Precleanse is an oil cleanser I use to break down makeup. I’m happy with it, but it’s pretty generic. The Clinique Turnaround Revitalizing Lotion is a good, alcohol free toner. The Paula’s Choice is pretty random (it was a Birchbox sample) but it seems to be making my skin’s texture nice. Verdict is still out on the Scar Care Serum, but it feels very silky. And the La Mer cream is the BOMB DOT COM. This is my night cream. And I love it. Honorable mention to my Clinique Superdefense Eye Cream. It brightens and a tiny bit goes a long way. It’s happiness.

Will I get back to my Bobbi Brown products? Absolutely. I have a thing of Lathering Tube Soap waiting for me once I empty these things, but these things are working well for me right now.

What do you use for your skin care? Anything I should try? Let me know in comments.

Standard

Leave a Reply

