Life, Year of Making it Happen

NaNoWriMo

Day one of NaNoWriMo yesterday and I wrote just shy of three thousand words. To be very exact I wrote 2947 words. I think this is a first day record for me and I hope I can keep the momentum going. I decided to give NaNoWriMo a try again this year and entered the fray without a plan. At all. Like, I had no idea what was going to come out of my fingers when I sat down in front of the keyboard yesterday morning. I just knew that I wanted to push myself to write two thousand words and I did so in under an hour. The words kept flowing and a general idea was just there. It felt good.

I know that I’ll hit a wall at some point. Somewhere in the story I will reach a place where I need something to help me along or my plot will wear thin (this assumes I even have a plot at any point.) Right now, though, it feels good to just be writing again.

Last week was rough. I don’t really want to talk about why, but it’s enough to say that life hit me hard with two mega reality checks, neither of which I know what the outcome will be for. I’m working my butt off for them both to be good and I’m going to put good energy into the Universe. And to be fair I needed the reality check. It doesn’t make it any easier, but it does give me renewed purpose. Being serious about getting things done is always a good paradigm shift. For me, NaNoWriMo is part of that.

So here’s to November.

Standard

Leave a Reply

