House and Home, Life

$50 Fab: Holiday Style

It’s a fair assessment that I like to decorate my house. It’s also a fair assessment that I love Target, that I enjoy being thrifty, and that those three things do not always go together. Decorating can be pricey, I can spend way too much money at Target, and when I’m trying to save money it doesn’t always work well. That being said it is not impossible to get your space fabulous for the holidays on the cheap. It’s taken me a few years to sort it out but this year I finally got it right. I present to you $50 Fab, my best tricks to get great decor on the cheap.

IMG_4348

1.Target Dollar Spot is the best thing ever. There are always neat things in that bargain bin treasure trove and it is a great place to get seasonal items. This year I scored four glitter Christmas trees, three wooden holiday signs, chalkboard reindeer ornaments, a festive chalkboard easel, and some adorable little skis for $33 total. It was enough to add fine details to nearly ever corner of my living room/office area. I spent another twelve dollars on Christmas tree bunting, a small Ikea picture frame, and some candles.

IMG_4332

2. Look for items after the holiday that you can use next year. I’ve gone to day after Christmas sales with my mom and grandmother for years and I often pick up random things that seem like they’d make no sense. I’d pick up random tablecloths, packs of ball ornaments, leftover candles, whatever caught my eye. I’d usually spend less than $20 and have a lot of odds and ends. Those odds and ends can easily be incorporated into a design. Those black and silver ball ornaments I got five years ago? This year they fill my grandfather’s vintage lunchbox not only making a nice design statement but also incorporating family memories into my home.

3. Think outside the box. Is there a beautiful piece of wrapping paper you just love? Frame it. It makes great holiday wall art or even mantle art. Those sparkly fabric placemats I bought after Christmas last year? They can be easily stitched together (or even fabric taped together) to make a unique and fun runner.  Leftover tinsel? Put it in a glass bowl or vase for a bit of pretty bling.

IMG_4349

4. Never underestimate hand-me-downs. When I moved out on my own my mom let me raid some of her unused holiday things. I scored lots of random old vintage things (like electric candle lights) as well as some things that she just didn’t use (like porcelain letters spelling out “joy”.) When a friend was changing out her theme for holiday decorations she gave me some of her European Santa Clause figures.  A family friend passed onto me a stuffed Santa she remembered I liked as a child. These things all round out my decorations, but also incorporate people I love into my home.

5. Be you. Just like last year, Holiday Yoda has his place of honor on my bookshelf. Yes, Holiday Yoda is a talking Yoda toy draped in beads. And I love him.

I’d love to hear your tips for cheap decorating. Give me tips in comments!

Standard

One thought on “$50 Fab: Holiday Style

Leave a Reply

