Life

New Essentials Part One: Face

We had our first regular appointment with the OB yesterday, and I just had my first “I wish someone would have told me about this” moment. I had no idea I was going to end up being a human pincushion! It’s all for a good cause, of course, but I’m going to definitely have to sit down and write about the experience.

Today, though, I’m focusing on the essentials that have been getting me out the door in the morning looking semi-human since my beloved coffee isn’t something I can’t drink a pot at a time anymore. What does a reduced amount of coffee look like for a beanaholic like me? It does not look cute! I’m so exhausted most mornings that a full face of makeup is not happening. I’m lucky I have the energy to wash my hair. To combat this I’ve figured out some simple things that have really helped me and I’m going to be sharing them, starting today with makeup.

FullSizeRender

Here are my out the door fast essentials for makeup. First (at least in regards to the photo), let’s start with the blush. That is MAC’s Mountain High. It was part of the Diana Ross collection, which unfortunately means it’s not available currently, but a somewhat similar color (on my skin tone) is Blush All Day. Since being pregnant skin behaves differently and some colors react in ways I hadn’t expected. Thus far this is the only blush I have found that gives me a good flush without pulling red or irritating my skin. It, and the Blush All Day, are very pigmented so a little goes a lot way. The eyeliner is Bobbi Brown Long Wear Eye Pencil in Mahogany. I can’t tell you how much I love this eyeliner. It’s smooth and creamy so it applies easily, but it doesn’t smudge once it sets and I can put it on at six in the morning and still look good by bedtime. Considering that I cry easy lately this is great. Next to that is what has been rocking my brows lately, Bobbi Brown’s Long-Wear Brow Gel. It’s a natural-looking product that perfectly defines my brow and stays there. I could sleep in my brows and they’d be perfect, and since I nap a lot now, too, I have. I’m currently using the shade Blonde. Rounding out my Bobbi Brown arsenal is the Skin Weightless Powder Foundation in Sand. Buildable, long-wearing, smooth, and not flat-looking on my skin this stuff is the bomb dot com. It’s just enough. Last but not least is Urban Decay’s Naked Skin One and Done. It’s sort of a tinted moisturizer and perfecter and I recently switched into it because my skin has been extra sensitive lately and, at the moment, it is the only foundation-like product not causing me to itch. It doesn’t give a lot of coverage, but it does a great job on redness and generally smoothing out the skin. It makes a great primer of sorts for my Bobbi Brown powder and while I am looking forward to the day I can wear my stick foundation again, this may just have earned a place in my rotation forever.

What products get you out the door in the morning? And for you mamas or soon-to-be mamas, what are your best essentials? I need all the help I can get so let me know in comments!

Standard

Leave a Reply

